Gabrielle and Joxer Chapter 2   Leave a comment

Sorry I’m late posting chapter 2.

Let me know what you think of it by commenting down below, click like, and also pass it on to your friends. Follow my blog so you can get an e-mail notice when I post another one. Thanks for reading my stories in advance.
***************************************************************************************************

Chapter 2 

Sola had followed him back to the tavern. When she discovered that he’d locked the door, she softly tapped on it and said, ‘Joxer? Are you okay?’ She got no answer. ‘Joxer, please talk to me? I completely understand what happened. My father explained it to me once that if a person doesn’t get enough sleep that their dreams can bleed into reality. They start seeing things that aren’t there. C’mon, please open the door?’

Joxer slowly opened the door and pulled her inside. ‘I don’t know what’s happening to me. I keep getting these images in my head that I’m never going to see my beloved Gabrielle again,’ he said as he began to cry.

Sola took him in her arms and said, ‘Joxer, you mustn’t think those thoughts. We will get her back. As soon as you feel ready to go, Hercules and I will come with you to help you. Do you remember what I said to you when you decided to tell her how you felt?’

Joxer said, ‘Yeah, you told me that as long as I was happy, then you’d be happy.’

‘And I meant it. Joxer, you are my very best friend and I love you very much, so that’s why I’m going to help you get her back. Now get some sleep and we’ll set off in the morning, okay?’

Joxer nodded his head. As she was leaving, Joxer called out, ‘Sola?’

She popped her head back in and said, ‘Yes, Joxer?’

‘Thanks for being my friend. I don’t know what I’d do without you,’ he said as a tear rolled down his cheek.

Sola walked over to him, hugged him and said, ‘I’ll always be there for you, you know that. Now get some sleep, we have a busy day ahead of us.’

The next morning, Joxer, Sola, and Hercules set out for the vineyard. Xena desperately wanted to go with them, but Hercules and Sola explained to her that because she was mortal, she’d get turned into a bird like Gabrielle did, and that because they were both half-gods, that the magic probably wouldn’t effect them. Xena agreed, and they left.

When they got to the spot, Joxer was finding it difficult to move. Sola sent Hercules off to scout ahead. ‘Joxer, now you’re gonna have to cry. When your tears touch the ground, a red flower will spring up. When that happens, I will pick it and when I touch you, you should be able to move. This will also keep Hera’s harpies from attacking us, but you must hurry before she appears.’

No sooner had she said those words, a pair of peacock feathers shaped like eyes appeared in the sky. ‘SOLARIS! WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE?’ boomed the voice of Hera.

‘I’m here to put a stop to you enchanting this forest and to release those poor young women you’ve changed into birds,’ Sola shouted back.

At this point, Hera came down from the clouds. She set Joxer free and then she released her harpies upon him. Joxer ran as fast as he could, and Sola was right behind him, with the harpies in hot pursuit. Hera was laughing maniacally. Sola came to a screeching halt. ‘Hide behind this tree!’ she shouted at Joxer.

She turned to face the harpies. She had three weapons which were designed by Hephaestus. The first was a sun shield which she used to block the harpies stone-like feathers which they threw at her like darts. One feather grazed her left leg.

‘Are you alright?’ asked Joxer concerned.

‘Yeah, it’s just a scratch,’ said Sola. ‘Just stay there behind the tree.’

He nodded his head in agreement and continued to watch with great concern and admiration for his friend. The second weapon was a crossbow that no matter how bad her aim was, it would always find its target. With a twang! whoosh! thud! she managed to pin the five harpies to trees. With her hypnotic powers she’d inherited from her father Morpheus, she put them in a trance. With the third and final weapon; a lunar sword that glowed blue like the moon whenever Hera’s harpies were near; she cut off each of their heads.

She turned to Joxer, ‘You can come out now, it’s safe,’ she said as she slid her sword back into its scabbard, strapped her shield to her back, and took her crossbow in her right hand.

‘Are you sure?’ asked Joxer as he emerged cautiously from his hiding spot. ‘There might be more of them.’

Sola laughed and said, ‘Yes, my dear friend, I’m sure, but just in case, I have my trusty crossbow.’ She took hold of his hand and said, ‘We’ll need to hold hands so we don’t get separated.’

They started walking back towards the vineyard. Soon it was getting difficult for Joxer to move again. ‘You need to cry Joxer!’ she said.

‘I don’t know if I can,’ he said.

‘You’re going to have to if you want to save Gabrielle!’ she shouted. ‘Quickly, here come the harpies!’ She shot at them with her magic crossbow. Each time a bolt left it, another would appear in its place like Cupid’s bow.

Joxer thought about how he’d never be able to see Gabrielle again, about how he would never hold or kiss her ever again. Soon, tears were flowing down his cheeks. As they splashed upon the ground, blood-red flowers with dew drops the size of a pearl magically grew. Sola promptly picked them, and the harpies disappeared. When she touched Joxer, he was able to move.

Hercules came walking towards them. ‘What’s taking you two so long?’ he asked.

‘Well, for starters,’ Sola explained, ‘Hera sent her harpies after us, and I had to fight them. Then I had to get Joxer to cry; which is not as easy as you might think by the way; while I held off more harpies so we could get these magical flowers.’

Joxer said, ‘Now let’s go save those girls!’

Sola handed him the flowers and said, ‘You need these to keep Hera’s harpies at bay, and to set the girls free. You’ll have to touch their cages.’ She turned to Hercules and asked, ‘How far is it to the cottage?’

‘It’s about an hour from here,’ he said.

‘Well, what are we waiting for?’ asked Joxer, ‘Time’s a wastin’’

End of Chapter 2.

Leave a Reply

